Free Website Content » Recreation » Casino and Gambling Articles

Print This Article
Publish This Article

Cricket World Cup Betting

By: Ray Clegg

The cricket world cup starts on 13th March 2007 with the host nation West Indies entertaining Pakistan at Sabina Park, Kingston, Jamaica.

The tournament which is held every 4 years consists of 51 One Day International Matches and an estimated 2.5 billion Television audience is expected to tune in to watch Crickets showpiece.

The cricket world cup is the most high profile event in world cricket due to the massive interest and worldwide live TV audience and record amounts of betting interest are predicted as opportunities to profit from cricket betting will exist throughout the tournament and millions of pounds will be matched on the betting exchanges from sports bettors and betting exchange traders alike and millions more will be taken by traditional bookmakers and sports books.

So who will win? It is hard to see beyond the hot favourites and current holders Australia having won the Champions Trophy in November 2006 and fresh from their Ashes series win over England Australia's odds on the betting exchanges will continue to shorten but the host nation West Indies should not be discounted home advantage will be a factor and they will be eager to do well in front of their home crowds while South Africa are judged by many to be currently the best one day cricket team in the world as for the other teams any one of India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka are capable of winning the cricket world cup with England and New Zealand considered to be outside chances.

Bangladesh and Zimbabwe complete the test cricket playing nations but are not serious contenders to win the tournament and Kenya, Scotland, Ireland, Canada, Bermuda and Holland make up the rest of the teams.

The 16 teams will be divided into 4 groups with the top 2 teams from each group advancing into the super 8 round where the remaining 8 teams will play each other in a round robin format with the top 4 teams qualifying for the world cup semi-finals.

The 2 semi-finals winners will then contest the cricket world cup final on April 28th at Kensington Oval, Barbados.

Previous Cricket winners
1975 - West Indies (held in England)
1979 - West Indies (held in England)
1983 - India (held in England)
1987 - Australia (held in India)
1992 - Pakistan (held in Australia)
1996 - Sri Lanka (held in Pakistan)
1999 - Australia (held in England)
2003 - Australia (held in South Africa)

Send this page to:

Author Bio
Ray Clegg has written many articles on sports betting and betting exchanges see more of his work at Cricket Trader and discover how you can profit from betting on the cricket world cup and all forms of cricket.

Article Source: - Free Website Content

Related Gambling Articles

Emotions in Poker
One of the things I love most about poker is the psychological and emotional aspect of it. Players live and die by the hands they win or lose which can cause them to make poor decisions.

Interesting characters have made interesting bets over the years
Interesting characters have made interesting bets over the years. Were they risking it all, or was there method in their maneuvers?

Understanding Paytables
Knowing the paytables has nothing to do with becoming an expert but everything to do with making sure your money goes as far as possible. Here are a few ways to make paytables work for you

Golf Investment Engine (GIE) Review
The Golf Investment Engine is a powerful piece of software that is able to accurately calculate the true probability of one player beating another over a round of professional golf.

©2006 Free Website Content - All Rights Reserved

Free Website Content
Home / Free Articles
About Article Geek
Contact Us
Latest Articles
Link to Us
Privacy Policy
Site Map

Your Account / Login
Article Tips
Author TOS
Article Benefits
Editorial Guidelines
Submit Article

Publisher TOS
RSS Feeds

RSS Feed Parsernew RSS parser

Resource Directory - Free Website Content